Hello and welcome. As I have no idea how to start, I will start with introducing myself to those who do not know me. My name is Julia, but it’s pronounced Yulia, which causes endless confusion. You may have already guessed that I’m not English and you’re right, I’m not English, American, Australian. Name an English speaking country and I’m not from there. I’m Polish. What’s my job? I’m an English teacher.

Let me explain how I became an English teacher, as it leads to the main topic of the blog, which is China and the relationship that I have with the language of the blog, which is English. I was growing up, told by parents that I must be an engineer, computer programmer, accountant or a doctor otherwise I’m bringing shame to my family. Parents, don’t tell your children what brings shame to the family, you just give them temptations that they can’t resist. Obviously, I was also forced to study English to get a better job as a computer programmer, accountant, doctor, etc. Soon enough I discovered that I might be good at science and Math, but they bore me to death (or I enjoy annoying the family) and I like studying languages. I never particularly loved English, but it was the first foreign language I have learned and became fluent when I was in my early teens. Also, I was and I am till this day a terrible geek and I spent childhood and teenage years reading books. I’m still great with books, languages and words, but not so great at using them to talk to people.

As a consequence, I rejected the bright career path of an engineer and chose the path that allowed me to be read and study languages since I absolutely hated studying anything else. To be honest, I thought it will not be work at all (I was wrong). After one year of English Studies at the University of Silesia, Poland, I decided that I am bored (again) and I absolutely must study Spanish. I enrolled into Spanish Studies, did two majors at the same time and became a disgusting workaholic. Nevertheless, I met my best friends there and had a fantastic time that sadly will never come back again.

For many years Spain was the country I often visited, lived there for almost a year and wanted to spend my life in. It would have happened, I’m absolutely certain, had it not been for the recession. It is impossible to get a job in Spain now. Although I probably would be able to, as my friend Kasia, but meanwhile, China happened and life brought me very far away from Spain. You can’t cheat fate. Still, Spain, everything I left there and all that happened to me there are very dear for me.

Now I feel nostalgic and sad, so let’s come back to the present times. Why did I want to become a teacher? The answer is, I never wanted to be a teacher. I absolutely hated the idea. Unfortunately, you cannot escape your fate. First it was a good way to earn extra money, then it was the only thing I knew how to do for money. Moreover, I wanted to travel since I was a little child and a teenager whose way of rebelling was hating my small town and everybody in it. English saved me from this life. When I was growing up, I enjoyed English lessons and learning about the world outside. England seemed then so exotic and far away. All of it taught me that world is much bigger than my Polish province and it’s mentality. So in short, English language saved me from becoming a good Polish Catholic and for that I must be etarnaly thankful.

Now, paradoxically, I am a foreign teacher and I feel like I’m giving it back to the Chinese students. I think that my job is to show them that they don’t have to be shy and that they should express themselves and speak their mind. They have a lot to offer to the world, they just need the courage.

Why did I come to China? I don’t know, have I been English, they would probably hired me somewhere in Europe. But well, I’m not and there are many teaching jobs in China. I just got an invitation for an interview. I didn’t want the job, but my friend Mohamed forced me to have the interview and I took it. Those who are interested can get Mohamed’s email and write him a thankful letter or a list of insults (the choice is yours).

I worked for EF in Zhejiang province for eight and half months. As I love my ex-colleagues (ok ok ok, almost all of them) and I have made great friends, the workload killed me. Now I’m working for a university in Ningbo, where I teach Oral English and Spanish. Unfortunately, I realized that I will be an EF teacher as long as I am a teacher. EF taught me how to plan my lessons, how to be a team player, how to introduce discipline into my classroom and be a bitch when I’m being disobeyed. Most importantly, it taught me how to fake enthusiasm, look perfectly happy and be energetic when in fact I feel like I would like to vomit on the floor/ lock myself in my room and read Harry Potter for the tenth time/ get on a bus and go anywhere as long as it is far away/ kill a colleague or a student/ cry. We were an amazing team, loyal to one another and always sticking together through thick and thin. It’s a shame that it fell apart, but I it would be unbearable if it lasted forever.

So, this blog is my very subjective story about China. Last year my Polish blog was full of amazement and enthusiasm, e.g. “uau, they drink hot water here!” “I cannot use chopsticks, how will I eat?!” I apologize because I’m now quite used to China and its ways and probably nothing can surprise me anymore. I study Chinese with my great friend Jiejie, I’ve travelled around a bit and I became quite a good Chinese cook (my only hobby when I worked for EF was cooking and drinking, I was completely unable to do anything that requires the use of brain cells). Moreover, the people reading this are mostly people who already live in China. However, the day when I stop liking to write will be the day that my brain stops to work, so I will continue writing and telling stories. What is also amazing about China is that you can find something new every day. It’s a huge country that is impossible to fully understand in a lifetime.

I will be extremely happy if you bear with me and read what I write here. As you can see, I am no bloody Shakespeare, but I promise to do my best not to butcher English. Writing makes me feel closer to people and recently the people who I’m close to are not native speakers (of Polish). So all I can say is welcome.

Jiejie
9/17/2013 02:04:12 pm

Hola,me siento tan feliz por ti y tu blog. Escribenos más cuentos cariñosos por favor. voy a ser tu gran fan!

Reply
Julia
9/17/2013 03:32:30 pm

Gracias Jiejie :) Voy a esforzarme para ti ;)

Reply
Sylwia
9/17/2013 08:10:36 pm

Wow, that´s a huge schock for me, to learn now all this amasing story of your life:D China- wow! All this curving path of fortune and accidents seems to be a base for a really interesting book, that you will hopefully write in the future:) It seems like ages since we graduated our little school in polish province:) I was travelling and learnt languages too- english, italian and german, that moved and lived here und there in all those countries, meeting people from all over the world and experiencing more and more. And all those languages and countries saved me paradoxally from ending up being a "world citizen"- so I bacame a good, proud polish Catholic, that, what seems to scare you off:D But so is the life:) I´ll read your blog more often, that´s for sure:) Enjoy yorself:)

Reply
Julia
9/17/2013 11:10:25 pm

Sylwia? Sylwia from kindergarten?!!!! Miło mi słyszec, że miło spędziłaś te wszystkie lata :) Dzięki za miłe słowa, Pozdrawiam!

Reply
Ania
9/18/2013 05:05:05 am

how much is EF paying you for the PR? ;) btw you should start paying ME, now I have TWO blogs to comment on!

Reply
9/18/2013 11:09:38 pm

Wow, I don't have the guts to try to blog in English, I barely have time to write my bollocks in Polish. Well, I know your story pretty well, I guess you can only be happier with 'not EF'. I'll keep on coming for more. And yes, knowledge of English certainly opens your eyes to the world outside our pitiful home country.

Reply
Julia
9/19/2013 08:05:38 pm

So, I see that the language of the comments is also English? OK then. Ania: EF is paying me nothing and I think I haven't actually encouraged anybody to work for them. Although it's a great place to start and be trained. As to paying you, I know that being my BFF is a demanding job, I can only hope it's rewarding as well :D Juriusz: Thanks for reading. "our pitiful home country" lol

Reply



Leave a Reply.